Clergy Honours

On Wednesday 24th January 2024 Archbishop John Wilson announced several honours among Southwark clergy, including three Canons and three new Chaplains to the Holy Father

Speaking of the new appointments, Archbishop Wilson stated:

"Writing to the Church in Corinth, St Paul reminds us that ‘when one part of the body is honoured, then all the other parts share its honour.’ (1 Cor 12:26) With this in mind, I am pleased to be able to share with you that, following consultation, some of our brothers have been honoured in a particular way."

New Canons

·    Rev. John Diver, Parish Priest of Westerham and Biggin Hill, and Episcopal Vicar for Safeguarding, has been made a Chapter Canon and Member of the College of Consultors.

Rev. David Gibbons, Parish Priest of Wimbledon and Chair of the Historic Churches Committee, has been made an Honorary Canon.

·    Rev. Liam Gallagher, Parish Priest of Maidstone and Episcopal Vicar for Marriage and Family Life, has been made an Honorary Canon.


Three priests who have served the Archdiocese in specific ways have been recognised by Our Holy Father:


New Chaplains to His Holiness (with the title Monsignor)

·    Rev. Philip Gilbert – for service to the Tribunal and to Catholic Education

Rev. Joseph O’Connor – for service to the care of priests

Rev. Canon John Weatherill – for service to diocesan finance and administration


Many congratulations to our clergy in Southwark on these significant honours