The Commission works with parishes, groups, associations and schools to promote racial equality and inclusion in our Archdiocese.

The road map of the Commission is to work with parishes, groups, associations and schools to promote racial equality and inclusion in our Archdiocese over the coming months and years. We all have a role to play to put an end to racism, and call on everyone to celebrate the beauty of our diversity as a Archdiocese, where everyone is welcomed, appreciated, cherished and loved.

Read the Proposed Roadmap

Our Purpose and Mission

February 2020 marked the 25th anniversary of Racial Justice Sunday. Only a few months later, in May 2020, the world witnessed the tragic and unjust death of George Floyd in America, which sparked a wave of protest across the globe.

In his encyclical letter, Fratelli Tutti, Pope Francis speaks of the need to actively oppose racism and pursue racial justice with renewed vigour (FT 25 and 235), while Bishop Paul McAleenan, the Lead Bishop for Racial Justice at the Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales, recently highlighted the fact that Racism is 'a sin and violation of human dignity'. In a recent letter Bishop Paul explored how we might recognise the dignity of each brother and sister by valuing diversity and looking for new ways to support different sections of the community.

In the Archdiocese of Southwark, Archbishop John Wilson responded to this year's theme: 'A Time to Act', by creating a new diocesan Commission for Promoting Racial and Cultural Inclusion,
chaired by Fr Victor Darlington, Parish Priest of Camberwell.

The 10-strong Commission team was formally inaugurated on Friday 29 January 2021. It will seek to identify, address and speak out against the evil of racism where it exists, and also explore ways to listen, accompany and support victims of racism, with a view to eliminating this infringement on human dignity.

Promoting Racial and Cultural Inclusion – Members

  • Esiri Emedo

  • Jude Onye – Commission Secretary

  • Mgr Canon James Cronin

  • Deacon Alfred Banya

  • Martin Whelton

  • Christine Burford

  • Bishop Pat Lynch SS.CC - Episcopal Advisor


  • Sr Janina Tuszkowska FMM

  • John Siraut

  • Don Burford

  • Fr Shaju Varkey

  • Delia Jameson

  • Fr Victor Darlington – Episcopal Vicar

More to explore

A Prayer for Justice

Continue reading

Links and Resources

Continue reading


Continue reading